A Chocolate Donut

July 18, 2007

Lab Rat

Filed under: fibro, fibromyalgia, FMS, health, life — Wizus @ 2:50 pm

I spent a long month working with a neurologist doing a drug study to help people, like me, who suffer with fibromyalgia.  I had a complete physical, including the dreaded pressure-point test (that brought me to tears, ouch!), and an EKG. I even gave up some bodily fluids and had a drug test and alcohol screening.  The icing on the cake was I had to completely stop all current medications and keep an electronic journal of my pain and fatigue. After numerous visits today is the day I would receive either the drug, or the placebo..or as it turns out, nothing!

Why? Because I am not in enough pain to continue with the study!

I am very sad about this.  I think pain is very arbitrary. I am always in pain, I am used to it. What I consider a 5, someone else might consider an 8, or vice versa.  The doctor explained that some people are in considered to be in too much pain to continue the study as well. The first thing I did when I came home was pop a Tramadol pill. Normally I reserve the pain pill for bedtime, but after a week with no pain relief I wasn’t about to wait another 10 hours.

That is the bad news, the good news is I finally have found a doctor that is a fibro expert! A skilled professional who can really help me!  He accepts the health insurance I have and wants me to continue with him as a patient. He already has ideas on what to do that will really help me. He really believes in the drug he is testing because of the positive results he has seen with it, but until it is approved for this use the insurance companies won’t cover it.  Out-of-pocket it would cost $800 a month.  Yes, I said eight hundred American dollars.  So, this doctor has other ideas to try first and he says, if push comes to shove he has been able to get some ins. cos. to pay for it in special cases where nothing else will work. 

I have hope…hope!!!!   I am going to be feeling better soon, I just know it!

1 Comment »

  1. […] been a long road to get to this point (3 years from diagnosis!), but I am so happy to have finally found a doctor that really understands how to treat […]

    Pingback by Feeling good with fibro…it can happen! « A Chocolate Donut — October 28, 2007 @ 11:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

