A Chocolate Donut

July 27, 2007

I am not the only one with this problem!

Filed under: family, life — Wizus @ 1:06 pm

I never really thought many people would see my blog but it has gotten a couple of Google hits with “how to keep carpet stains from coming back”. I wonder if anyone found an answer? I beg of anyone that has been successful with their search to let me in on the secret.  In the mean time, let me give some tips so I don’t feel so bad that anyone came to this deadend:

Spot Shot is the best carpet stain removal product on the market.  Here is what happens when I use it for a large area with many stains: First, I spray each spot around the room, I start at one end and go to the other just spraying the spots as I go.  Then I go back to the side of the room I started on with a clean rag to blot the spot..and here is the kicker..nearly every spot is already gone!  I cannot find the spots that I sprayed because they have disappeared!  I have to step around with my bare feet to find the wet spots so I can blot. Why blot if the spot is gone? Mostly to remove the wetness.

Now, I heard that the spot will come back because dirt will stick to the cleanser you use, even if it is dry. At least thats they way I understand how it works if the “professional” cleaners that come to my house are being honest with me. With that in mind,  if I am using Spot Shot on a large amount of stains, or on very large stains, I bring out my Hoover SteamVac. I pretreat stain then run the steam cleaner with just hot water and no other cleanser. I run the steam cleaner so often that I don’t use the carpet cleanser in it every time.   

For the experiement I did this week I actually used a different spot treater…OxyClean.  I have a friend that swears by it. She was so insistant that I decided to try it instead of my beloved Spot Shot (plus OxyClean is so much cheaper! For the best buy in Spot Shot, buy the four-pack at Costco).  I poured it on to the stains and let it sit for a good 5 minutes before I began sucking it up with the steam cleaner (which also has rotating bushes so it is more than pouring on spot treater and sucking it up).  I want to add that I have a good waterproof pad under my carpet so the pad does not soak up cleansers. 

It took 2 days for the carpet to feel completely dry in all areas, probably because I covered it with towels during the day so no one would walk on the damp carpet. I also thought the towels would help aid in soaking up the dirt when we did have to walk over those area. I took the towels off at night.  I am sure by now you are sitting at the end of your seat with wonder, did it work?

Well, the spots are much lighter, but they are still there.  The experiement is not over though. I also want to see if they come back as big and as noticeable as they were before I cleaned them.   The experiement will be officially over the next time I feel the need to run the steam cleaner.

2 Comments »

  1. I gave up on spot removal. I just make sure I have very dark carpet now where the spots don’t show. The only way to avoid spots on carpet would be to live outside and gaze through the window at the carpet. 😉

    Comment by snigsspot — July 30, 2007 @ 7:56 pm

  2. The problem I have found with spot removal, is I now have “clean spots” 😛

    Comment by Wizus — July 30, 2007 @ 11:54 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

