A Chocolate Donut

August 17, 2007

Another FW:

Filed under: email, life, rant — Wizus @ 8:32 am

Somebody got me to open another chain email today, she changed the subject line so I didn’t know it was a FW until I opened it  😛   I am facinated by this one because while most of the stories circulated through email say True Story, they end up being false.   This one actually is a true story that checks out with Snopes.com

Subject: FW: Bank of America STATE OF AFFAIRS A conversation between a Customer and Bank of America (true story)Bank: This is the Bank of America, can I help you?

Customer: Yes, I want to cancel my account.  I don’t want to do business with you any longer.

Bank: Why?

Customer: You’re giving credit to illegal immigrants and I don’t think it’s right.    I’m taking my business elsewhere.

Bank: Well, Mr. Customer, we don’t want to see you do that, but we can’t stop you.  I’ll help you close the account. What is your account number?

Customer: (gives account number) 

Bank: For security purposes and for your protection, can you please give me  the last four digits of your social security number?

Customer: No.

Bank: Mr. Customer, I need to verify your information, but in order to help you, I’ll need verification  of who you are.

Customer: Why should I give you my social security number? The reason I’m closing  my account is that your bank is issuing credit cards to illegal 
immigrants
 who don’t have social security numbers. You are targeting that audience and want their  business. Let’s say I’m an illegal immigrant and you’ve given me a credit card. I have a question  about it and call for assistance. You wouldn’t be asking me for a Social Security number, would you?

Bank: No sir, I wouldn’t. 

Customer: Why not? 

Bank: Because you would have pressed ‘2’ to speak in Spanish. We don’t ask for that information  when calling in on the Spanish line.

My opinion on the matter is the same as this customer’s.  I know we have legal immigrants here that do many of the entry level jobs that they say “no one else wants to do”, (and that is true to a certain extent) but I have to argue that there are many doing the entry level jobs my high school friends and I did as teenagers; construction, house cleaning, and bussing in restaurants.  My son and his buddies could not get a job at the local McDonalds, but when I took the kids there for lunch every employee was Hispanic…ironically there are not very many Hispanic people living in the neighborhood surrounding this store.  

Illegal immigration is a huge problem here in AZ.  It is dangerous for them to sneak into the States, to cross in the desert when it is 120 degrees in the shade is suicide.  It breaks my heart when the local news reports another death that has occured in the middle of nowhere.  Many of those crossing are coming here because they see out country as the land of milk and honey, they are just like you and me…they want to provide a good life for their children.

If companies are so desperate for skilled laborers, they need to petition the government to hand out more green cards. I know that the Tech companies do that when they need to hire more people with Engineering degrees, and hospitals do it to hire more doctors and nurses. I don’t have a problem with immigrant workers, but I do have a problem with people sneaking around. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

