A Chocolate Donut

September 3, 2007

The first 42 years

Filed under: birthday, family, life, midlife crisis — Wizus @ 2:54 pm

It is that time of year again…the annual celebration of the day I was born!   I never was one to make a big deal out of my birthday, except for the “special” ones….10, 13, 16, 18, 19 (that was the legal drinking age back in 1983!), 21, 30, 40.  Eleven became special for a really fun reason.  I had spent the summer with my cousins in New York (which is a fun story for another blog entry all on its own!).  Lucky me, my flight home was scheduled for my birthday! Early in the day my aunt threw a little party for me, a combo bday/bonvoyage thing.  I hopped on the plane for the 12 (yes! twelve!) hour flight home.  All by myself. On my eleventh birthday. For 12 hours. When I arrived home…it was still my birthday!…and I’ll add, “home” was Hawaii!…With “1” cake in NY and “1” cake in HI, I was really “11”!   😀

Now that I am on the down side of the hill, I think I will celebrate them all with lots of gusto!   I think this year it will be my birthday “week”, and sometime down the line I will begin celebrating my birthday “month”.   I have known people that celebrate their birthdays for a year…“This is the year I am 75!”   I think someday I will do that too.    You never know how long you will live, but I am okay with thinking I have less years coming than as many that have passed.  Middle-age is really cool. I really am exactly where I want to be in life. I don’t need to work to get there, I just need to maintain.  

Here is a cool bit of trivia…the day I was born, my mom labored while watching the LA Dodgers beat the Chicago Cubs as  Sandy Koufax pitched a perfect game.   (Mom is a huge baseball fan and, being from NY, was perfectly fine with the Dodgers moving to LA when she did!) I wish that I could say that proved to be a good omen, that my life would be a “perfect game”, but I have had my fair share of strikes.   When I look back at the crap-part of my life I can see how it got me to where I am now, which is really a very good place for me to be so I am not going to complain about anything.  I have thought long and hard about my life’s experiences, and if I had a time machine there are 2, maybe 3 places in my life I would like to go back and make a different choice. But, I really don’t know if I would like the outcome so I think I’ll be happy with the status quo.

When I turned 30, I made a list of “Things to do before I turn 40” and I did them.  Some of the biggies were “Run a marathon”. Check. “Climb a mountain”. Check. (I hiked Mt Elbert, the highest point in the Rockies!) “Jump out of a plane” had to be moved from my “Do before 40” list, to my “Things to do as a widow” list when Hubby vetoed it.   My dad moved in with me the year I turned 40, so between taking care of him, my family and trying to deal with my own health issues I never made my “Things to do before 50” list.  I moved Dad into a hospice home and I am finally on a good medication so I can begin to get things done. If anyone has any suggestions bring it on!  So far the only ones I have are , “Learn to SCUBA” and “Take a cruise”…oh yeah, I want to subject myself to “Boot Camp” at the gym so I better add that to the list too.  I should do that one before scuba lessons, then use my scuba skills while on some exotic cruise!  Oh, yeah. It is all coming together.  The next 42 years are going to be great!

4 Comments »

  1. Super big happy birthday to you! Scuba diving sounds fun, and I’d jump out of a plane in a heartbeat. How about hang gliding, would your hubby veto that too?

    Comment by shellssells — September 4, 2007 @ 6:09 am

  2. Oh I am with you on the plane sista!! Just tell your husband afterwards lol!

    And week-long birthday festivities are my specialty! I’ve been doing it for years now and I highly recommend them. My family and friends don’t even roll their eyes much anymore lol! You must name it however, such as “Festival of Izus”.

    So please enjoy your celebration to the utmost!! Happy Birthday! 😀

    Comment by savasana — September 4, 2007 @ 7:52 am

  3. It’s absolutely official now!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY IZUS! Hope you have the most super, fantastic, special, wonderful, great, happy, enjoyable and utterly orgasmic (figuratively unless you’d prefer literal) day on record!!

    Hugs, love and birthday cake all around!!

    Comment by snigsspot — September 8, 2007 @ 9:25 pm

  4. Thank you Ladies! The Festival of Izus was greatly enjoyed!

    And Snigs, I took your wishes literally 😉
    (except I had some pie instead of cake!)

    Shells, Hubby says he has a healthy respect for gravity, so he would not approve of hang gliding either 😦 I don’t mind his vetoes because I get to say stuff like “The next time you get (insert some kind of *favor* here) will be the day after I go sky diving” 😆

    Comment by Wizus — September 10, 2007 @ 1:30 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

