A Chocolate Donut

September 10, 2007

Back to regular life.

Filed under: birthday, family, Heroes, life, midlife crisis, The Sims 2 — Wizus @ 12:30 pm

My “Birthday Week” was much fun!  Here is what I have been up to:

I took myself shopping for some new clothes and found many great bargains. Since many of the major department stores are run by a corporate purchasing office in some far-off-land with a Fall Season, I was able to walk past racks and shelves full of sweaters to the clearance Summer items.  The only thing better than having new clothes is having new clothes at a bargain price!  I really don’t enjoy trying on clothes so when I find something that fits well and I really like it,  I buy more than one, especially if it comes in different colors.  Buying 2 or more items for the price of one really works great for me!

I also bought myself a bread machine.  The only downside I have found to making bread in the machine is that I can only make one loaf at a time, but it is so easy I can make a new fresh loaf everyday!  I just put the ingredients into the machine, push start and viola! Fresh bread will be ready in about four hours.  I can leave the house and come home to the yummy aroma with no effort.

Then I went a little radical (for me anyway!) at the hair salon…I am now a brunette!  Not a even a wisp of blonde hair anywhere on my head. There are no highlights and most importantly, not a sign of that kinky white hair trying to take over up there.   I think the darker hair makes my eyebrows look a little odd so I have been experiementing with different eyebrow pencils to get it right.  (I sell MaryKay so I have my own personal beauty supply store in my home!) So far, I am having just as much fun as I have had as a blond.  Hubby really likes it…his reaction reminded me of episode 72   from the show All in the Family  😉

The kids spent Saturday night with Bigama and Papa so Hubby took me out on a date.  We went to the movie theater to see Superbad. I enjoyed it, I didn’t think it was as funny as it could have been, but there were some very clever scenes that will go down in movie history. We then went out for some delicious Italian food at a place that leaves the bottle of Chianti on the table but charges by the glass with an honor system of asking “how many glasses did you pour?” They even sang Happy Birthday to me in Italian, fun!

I visited my dad, and he while he knew it was me he could not remember the date of my birthday. He says he is comfortable and happy and that is all that matters at this point.

My oldest brother called me to wish me a happy birthday and we had a nice chat. His son was diagnosed with leukemia last year and he told me he is doing well enough to go back to school this year so that is very good news!

When the kids came home they gave me The Sims 2, Bon Voyage (and KK spent the rest of the day on my lap watching me play-and begging for me to let her play her own family, and Kenny wanted me to tell him to come look anytime a new car showed up).  Hubby gave me the DVD set for the first season of Heroes.  He also promises to upgrade my PC, I just need to tell him what I want.  It is a pretty good PC for what I do with it.  Most likely I’ll get more RAM but I have to do a little research on what else I could do to get it to run a bit better while playing TS2. 

Appropriately enough, my mom missed my party to go to a ballgame!  😀  While I didn’t see her during my birthday week, she is going to take me out for lunch tomorrow to one of my favorite Mexican food restaurants so I will just extend the celebration a bit.

Now, it is time for some leftover birthday pie, Lemon Supreme, YUM! (cake is soooo over-rated..everyone should have pie!  8)  )

3 Comments »

  1. My brother always has grape pie for his birthday so we can relate. So glad you had a great week!

    And really, your father not remembering the date of your birthday? 😉 He is male after all!

    (Not to make light of a tough situation, just going for the brevity 🙂 )

    Comment by shellssells — September 10, 2007 @ 2:29 pm

  2. Sounds like you had an A+ kind of week Izus. I’m glad, as I can’t think of too many more folks that deserve it as much as you. Here’s to the next 42 years being just as great!

    Comment by snigsspot — September 10, 2007 @ 4:36 pm

  3. Very Happy Birthday!! Glad you’ve enjoyed your birthday week. 🙂

    Comment by cmmg — September 12, 2007 @ 6:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

