A Chocolate Donut

November 20, 2007

I’m useless today

Filed under: family, fibromyalgia, health, life, rant, sleep — Wizus @ 2:52 pm

I don’t know why I want to do nothing.  I am not tired, I am not in any pain or discomfort, I just don’t want to do anything.  I have a list 2 pages long in my notebook (damn that notebook!) but I cannot motivate myself into doing any of it  😦  I hate it when I get stuck in a funk that won’t let me be productive. 

Yesterday I managed to get a few things done that I didn’t want to do…all of which involved going into Walmart.  I am lucky that my local store has 1) a branch of my Dad’s bank  2) a mail center  3) groceries and 4) a pharmacy.  I feel like I accomplished a lot in one stop because that took a few hours…yes hours.  What is amazing about this store is, if I had had more time, I could have also gotten an eye exam, my hair cut and had our family’s portrait taken for out greeting cards!  Bummer, they are still on my to-do list.

I have a love/hate relationship with Walmart…I like the convenience of the store, but I find it weird that I am never greeted by a “Greeter”.  Even when my kids were small and I needed help with the cart the “Greeters” would ignore me.  No one believes it until they walk into a store with me…then, as if on cue, the “Greeter” will turn to talk with whomever happens to be behind them at the time.  If I have a return I have to ask them for one of those stickers they like to put on incoming merchandise because they will just let me go on in without stopping me.  Hubby and my friends are amazed.  I asked them if I have an unconcious “Don’t talk to me, bitch!” scowl on my face that scares the greeters away, but they promise me I don’t.  I’ll chalk it up to being one of my *gifts*, I am “Suzi, the invisible Walmart shopper!” 

Three days before Thanksgiving and I survived the Walmart parking lot,  being ignored by the “Greeter”, the business of taking Dad’s death certificate to the bank and straightening out a social security mess, mailing life insurance information to ungrateful brothers, buying a few fresh food items for dinner (for the remainder of this week, I advise only go into a grocery store if it is an emergency!) and made it through a check out line a mile long…so what is my problem today?  I just want to veg.  I want ignore my responsibilties, maybe turn on the TV to see what poor sap Dr. Phil is going humilate today.  

 :sigh:

2 Comments »

  1. Soooo been there, done that. There are just days like that, that I guess everyone has! Hope you feel more like yourself tomorrow/soon. Maybe all you need is good wishes, hugs and chocolate! I’ll send all three your way. (Except the chocolate will be virtual as I don’t think I can drive to AZ this week, my family might have a fit if I go missing. LOL)

    Comment by cmmg — November 20, 2007 @ 8:25 pm

  2. Those days that seem to be useless usually aren’t. Our brains and bodies know better than our senses sometimes I think. “Useless” days let the psyche and physique chill out. 😉 As long as every day isn’t one of those days, it all works out in the end.

    Comment by snigsspot — November 23, 2007 @ 12:51 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

